CPL/First Steps

CPL / Concealed Pistol License

What to expect:

The Concealed Pistol License instruction will provide participants with what they will need to be able to obtain a Michigan CCW, CPL or Concealed Pistol License. Most classes will be offered on a Saturday or Sunday. Class is $100.00 with $35.00 non refundable deposit with cancelation. Private Classes also available upon request. Discounts offered to groups, LE, Military, First Responders, Clergy and Teachers. We are currently running an $85.00 Special.(4% charge added for Credit Cards)

Private Classes are also available from 1 person up. Cost of this class is dependent on number of students. Starting price is $150.00 per person.

We now offer Firearms Rental: $ 25.00 this includes firearm and Ammunition.

We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone we feel may not be safe or a danger to themselves or others. Instructors will be evaluating for safety and competency during the range portion of the class. Any person who fails to comply with this instruction will be asked to leave the range and will forfeit their payment for class. Class dates are subject to cancelation or change in case of unforeseen events or not enough students. If this happens you may join next class or earliest convenience class.

This class provides instruction in:
  • Firearms Safety in the home. To include storage and transport of firearms.

  • Making you and your home a safer place.

  • Concealed pistol carry in public.

  • Defensive Marksmanship vs. Target Shooting.

  • Firearms Laws for the State of Michigan to include use of Deadly Force and legal actions that pertain to you.

  • Personal and Situational Awareness including 4 levels of awareness.

  • Developing a survivor mentality and mindset.

  • Avoiding and Handling a violent encounter.

  • Explain and handling malfunctions that can occur.

  • Using Cover and Concealment. 

  • Different types of Concealed Carry options.

  • Identify cartridge designs for practice and personal defense.

  • Continuing your training to include range and dry fire practices. 

Items you will need to bring with you to class. ( Leave all firearms and Ammunition in your vehicle).

  • Target ammunition. 100 Rounds(no magnum guns or ammunition allowed)

  • Ear and eye protection.

  • A Pistol for the range. ( minimum caliber .22LR )

  • Pen and note pad.

  • No magnum calibers, black powder or single action pistols are allowed for this class

  • Experience with a firearm for this class is preferred and be 18 years of age to attend class. Must be 21 to obtain a Michigan CPL. ( If you are a new shooter we also offer First Steps and Basic Pistol Classes. )

  • Factory ammunition must be used. NO RELOADS!

  • No Aluminum or Steel casings. 

New Shooter First Step / Basic Pistol Class  

This Class is designed to provide you with a basic knowledge of pistol safety and shooting skills. A discount of $25.00 will be deducted from you CPL Class if this class is taken first. This class is between 2 and 3 hours depending on class size. Cost of this class is $75.00 with a $35.00 non refundable deposit required. $60.00 Fall / Winter Special.

Instructors will be evaluating for safety and competency during the range portion of the class. Any person who fails to comply with this instruction will be asked to leave the range and will forfeit their payment for class. We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone we feel may not be safe or a danger to themselves or others. Class dates are subject to cancelation or change in case of unforeseen events or not enough students. If this happens you may join next class or earliest convenience class.

If Person is a No Call or No Show there will be a $25.00 re-instatement fee assessed. To be paid when class starts.

Defensive Shooting Skills, LLC, Gun Safety, 
Grand Rapids, MI