CPL or First Steps

CPL : Concealed Pistol License



CPL Class:  (CPL and First Steps ARE NOT THE SAME)

Classes held at 3618 Burlingame Ave SW, Wyoming, MI. 49509


Class size is limited at this time

due to Covid 19


What to expect:

The Concealed Pistol License instruction will provide participants with what they will need to be able to obtain a Michigan CCW, CPL or Concealed Pistol License. Most classes will be offered on a Saturday or Sunday. Class is $85.00 with a deposit required to hold spot. Deposit come off the price of the class.( Deposit is non- refundable, but you can change to a different date of your choice). 

Discounts offered to groups, LE, Military, First Responders and Clergy.

If you don't have handgun experience the First Steps Class is highly recommended.

Private Classes are also available from 1 person up. Cost of this class is dependent on number of students. Contact us for pricing for private classes. 1 to 10 persons is considered a private class after 5 students price discounts will be applied. Call 616-291-1085 for discounted rates.

We now offer Firearms Rental: $25.00 this includes firearm and Ammunition.  Rental fees have go upto $25.00 due to ammo shortage. 

Cash, Check or Credit Card accepted.(4% Processing fee added for Credit Cards)

Remember it is a Felony to be in possession of another persons handgun without a Concealed Pistol License.


This class provides instruction in:
  • Firearms Safety in the home. To include storage and transport of firearms.

  • Making you and your home a safer place.

  • Concealed pistol carry in public.

  • Defensive Marksmanship vs. Target Shooting.

  • Firearms Laws for the State of Michigan to include use of Deadly Force and legal actions that pertain to you.

  • Personal and Situational Awareness including 4 levels of awareness.

  • Developing a survivor mentality and mindset.

  • Avoiding and Handling a violent encounter.

  • Explain and handling malfunctions that can occur.

  • Using Cover and Concealment. 

  • Different types of Concealed Carry options.

  • Identify cartridge designs for practice and personal defense.

  • Continuing your training to include range and dry fire practices. 

Items you will need to bring with you to class. ( Leave all firearms and Ammunition in your vehicle).

  • Target ammunition. 100 Rounds(no magnum guns or ammunition allowed)

  • Ear and eye protection.

  • A Pistol for the range. ( minimum caliber .22LR )

  • Pen and note pad.

  • No magnum calibers, black powder or single action pistols are allowed for this class

  • Experience with a firearm for this class is preferred and be 18 years of age to attend class. Must be 21 to obtain a Michigan CPL. ( If you are a new shooter we also offer First Steps and Basic Pistol Classes. )

  • Factory ammunition must be used. NO RELOADS!

  • No Aluminum or Steel casings. 



New Shooter First Step / Basic Pistol Class

(This is a different class and not CPL Class)  (140.00 First Steps and CPL combo special, This includes gun rental and range.  The combo is two separate classes)*** 


What to expect: 

This Class is designed to provide you with a basic knowledge of pistol safety and shooting skills. A discount of $25.00 will be deducted from you CPL Class if this class is taken first. This class is between 3 and 4 hours depending on class size. Cost of this class is $75.00 with a $25.00 non refundable deposit required. 

1. Firearms Safety

2. Basic Pistol knowledge and Types of Hanguns

3. Fundamentals of Shooting

4. Proper Loading, unloading, Cocking and Decocking of handguns

5. Proper Storage of Firearms

6. Proper Care and Cleaning of Firearms

7. Live Fire Range 

Instructors will be evaluating for safety and competency during the range portion of the class. Any person who fails to comply with this instruction will be asked to leave the range and will forfeit their payment for class. We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone we feel may not be safe or a danger to themselves or others. Class dates are subject to cancelation or change in case of unforeseen events or not enough students. If this happens you may join next class or earliest convenience class.

We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone we feel may not be safe or a danger to themselves or others. Instructors will be evaluating for safety and competency during the range portion of the class. Any person who fails to comply with this instruction will be asked to leave the range and will forfeit their payment for class. 

Class dates are subject to cancelation or change in case of unforeseen events or not enough students. If this happens you may join next class or earliest convenience class.We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone we feel may not be safe or a danger to themselves or others. Instructors will be evaluating for safety and competency during the range portion of the class. Any person who fails to comply with this instruction will be asked to leave the range and will forfeit their payment for class. Class dates are subject to cancelation or change in case of unforeseen events or not enough students. If this happens you may join next class or earliest convenience class.

A $25.00 reschedule fee may be assessed if you cancel or reschedule within 72 hours of class. There will be an automatic $35.00 reschedule fee if you are a no call no show. 


Defensive Shooting Skills, LLC, Gun Safety, 
Grand Rapids, MI